Black Ops Cold War

Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War players won’t get free next-gen upgrade

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Black Ops Cold War will be the latest addition to the Call of Duty franchise. The details of the game were leaked through the files of Modern Warfare, following the latest update on 24th August. The game will be a direct sequel to the fan-favorite Black Ops 1.

The leaked files show that there will be three versions of the game:

  • Standard Edition
  • Cross-Gen Bundle
  • Ultimate Edition

The standard edition will be the base version for PC, PS4, and Xbox One. This will include the beta access to the game as well as Frank Woods operator in Modern Warfare and Warzone. However, if you are looking to upgrade your console this holiday season, this edition of the game might not be for you.

Also read: The Lord Of The Rings: Gollum gets an impressive new trailer – Comes out 2021

Cross-Gen suggests there will be no free upgrades

The Cross-Gen bundle offers everything to the users that the standard edition has to offer. Additionally, it will allow users to play the game in the next generation of consoles. What this means is, the users who buy Black Ops Cold War standard edition will have to buy another copy of the game designed for the future consoles, if they wish to play it on PS5 or Xbox series X. In contrast, users who own the Cross-Gen bundle will get that upgrade for free when the time comes.

Cold War

Activision does not want its users to get the free upgrade but rather wants them to pay even more. This news comes as a shock to a lot of fans who are already pretty furious over the company making money out of microtransactions, battle passes and DLCs.

Black Ops Cold War Ultimate Edition

The ultimate edition will contain base game and the cross-gen upgrade as well as additional content for Black Ops Cold War when it comes out. Just like the standard and cross-gen editions, players will have access to the beta version of the game. This information has been revealed by COD tracker.

  • Land, Sea, and Air Pack:
    • Operator Skins *3
    • Vehicle Skins *3
    • Weapon Blueprints *3
  • Battle Pass Bundle (1 Season Battle Pass + 20 Tier Skips)
  • Confrontation Weapons Pack (available for the standard edition and cross-gen edition as well)

Furthermore, some artwork for the game has also been revealed thanks to the Twitter user @BKTOOR_

Cold War Game Modes

Call Of Duty: Black Ops Cold War will have both, a story mode as well as multiplayer mode.

Campaign mode

The campaign or story will be a direct sequel to Black Ops 1. The players will be dropped into the Cold War’s geopolitical battle, in the early 1980s. As the story progresses, the players will face some hard truths as well as historical figures. The players will be able to experience some of the historical places such as Vietnam, Soviet KGB headquarters, Turkey, East Berlin, and much more.

Also read: Will the Tencent US ban affect Call Of Duty, Fortnite, and League Of Legends?

As elite operatives, the player will follow the trail of Perseus, who is on the mission to destabilize the global balance of power and change the course of history while doing so.

Multiplayer Mode

The multiplayer mode of the game will include the standard multiplayer modes as well as the addition of the infamous Zombie mode. The players will be able to play the game with the Cold Wars arsenal of weapons. It will be interesting to see how the players will adapt to newer weapons and game mechanics.

The game is set to be revealed on 26th August and will be available for preorder on PC, Xbox One and PS4. Newer versions of the game will be available when the next generation of consoles come out as well.

error: Content is protected !!